Metalways and Napcations

it’s no secret that I love music. I love the fire, the passion, the crushing emotion. I name drop Vital Remains so often you’d think I’m Pulling a John C. Mayer. Music is my heart, my lifeline. I’ve sang opera for a decade, my Partner In Crime a guitarist for close to the same. My daughter will soon put fingers to keys. Music punctuates my life, but being a single mama-college student hybrid makes getting to shows kind of difficult. That’s why I’m so excited for the METALWAY!
Jeffers and I are planning on packing up the combat boots and heading to Des Moines in November. A trip that will include Cannibal Corpse, Devourment, Dying Fetus and Vital Remains. Our getaway. Our metal getaway. Our metalway.
While going to a concert may not mean much to some of you out there, to me it’s huge. Music is my heartbeat and I haven’t had it in awhile. It’s one thing to plug in the iPod and rock out in the living room, but it’s quite another to be in the crowd. You can FEEL the music. You can see the emotion in the eyes of the band members, the sweat on their brows. You watch the venue explode with the bass line, the pit devolving into the rhythmic passion the sound intended.
It’s religious. It’s everything.
To some people, it’s sound. It’s chromatic notes and a time signature. To me, it’s a reason to wake up in the morning. It’s the thing I share with the other thing I wake up for in the morning– my family. My sweet little alternafamily, with our zebra print rugs and death metal soundtrack.

Music and family.

Diaper pins and combat boots.

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

